The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

The Next Big Thing Blog Hop is a chance for authors to respond to ten questions about their latest book. The author tags the person who first tagged them, plus a few other authors who will post on their blogs the following Wednesday.First, I’d like to thank author, Elke Feuer, for tagging me. Click the links below to find out more about Elke and her debut novel, For the Love of Jazz, a contemporary romance with a ghostly twist.

Website: http://elkefeuer.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/?ref=tn_tnmn#!/pages/Elke-Feuer/185367964831994

Twitter: @ElkeFeuer

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6550227.Elke_Feuer

Here is my Next Big Thing! Please feel free to comment and ask questions.

1: What is the title of your book? Hot Off the Press

2: Where did the idea come from for the book? I studied journalism and worked at the Kingston Whig-Standard which was owned, at one time, by renowned author (novelist, playwright, critic, journalist, and professor) Robertson Davies.  I always thought the small town newspaper would make a great setting for a romance novel.  And when Robertson Davies died in 1995, it got me thinking about what it might be like to inherit a newspaper from your much beloved, celebrated father and how difficult it would be to live up to such a legacy.

3: What genre does your book come under? Contemporary romance

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? I originally patterned my heroine after a young Geena Davis, but if I were casting a movie today I would probably want Lauren Ambrose as Leigh Cameron and Adam Beech as David Stone.

Adam Beech

Adam Beech

Geena Davis

Geena Davis

Lauren Ambrose

Lauren Ambrose

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Following the death of her father, Leigh returns to the sleepy seaside town of her youth, where, she’s shocked and surprised to learn she’s inherited the family paper.

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency? My book is published by Crimson Romance.

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? I spent about two years writing the first draft of Hot Off the Press during evenings and weekends.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? One reviewer said of Hot Off the Press, “Readers who love Susan Elizabeth Phillips or Jill Shalvis will not want to miss this book.” And another added, “A true tapestry of characters, story, and a richly detailed setting reminiscent of early Nora Roberts.”

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book? I wrote the book after moving to Toronto for a job as a television reporter.  This story was, in many ways, love letter to print journalism and to the friends I left behind.  That said, despite sharing some physical attributes with some of my dearest friends, Leigh, Geoffrey, David, Andrea and Bruce are all fictional characters.

The Watford Sun, the small independent paper where my story is based, was inspired by a Canadian daily newspaper called the Kingston Whig Standard that was privately owned until very recently.  I interned there as an Arts and Entertainment reporter some years back and I found the small town and its charming old buildings very romantic.  The fictitious town of Watford, MA, where the story is based bears some similarities with the town of Kingston, Ontario where this paper is located.

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? It’s a beautiful, sensual read with a fire escape sex scene my critique group still raves about some six years after I first read it to them.

Below are the links to the next chain of authors who will be posting next Wednesday.

Please show them some love by bookmarking their sites and adding their new releases to your calendars. Happy Writing and Reading!

  1. Kaye Dacus is the author of humorous, hope-filled contemporary and historical romances with Barbour Publishing, Harvest House Publishers, and B&H Publishing. Find out more at kayedacus.com.  Find her on Twitter @KayeDacus
  2. Heidi Ruby Miller uses research for her thrillers as an excuse to roam the globe.  Find out more at heidirubymiller.blogspot.ca.  Find her on Twitter @HeidiRubyMiller
Advertisements